## **Nelson Community Council**

Annual Meeting held on 11th May 2023 (after main meeting) at Nelson Institute.

Present: Cllr R Powell (Chair)

Cllr G Davies Cllr E Ap Dafydd Cllr A John Cllr A Gray

Cllr B Miles Cllr A John

Mr. L John (Clerk)

No declarations of interest were received.

## 1 To Receive apologies for absence

Cllr L Dufty

## 2 To review the minutes of the Annual Meeting held in May 2022.

Members approved the minutes.

## 3 Election of Chairperson

Members (nominated Cllr Gray, Seconded Cllr Davies) elected Cllr E ap Llwyd Dafydd as Chair. As there were no further nominations Cllr E ap Llwyd Dafydd was duly elected.

Cllr E ap Llwyd Dafydd was advised that he needs to sign the declaration of acceptance of office as Chairman and return to the Clerk.

#### 4 Election of Vice-Chairperson

Nominations for Vice-Chairman were opened with proposal for Cllr Gray received. As there were no further nominations Cllr Gray was duly elected to the post of Vice-Chair.

# To make Declarations of Interest (all Members) in the presence of the Clerk and Proper Office

Members completed the declarations of interest.

#### 6 Consider Risk Assessment

Members approved the Risk Assessment.

## 7 Consider Standing Orders (NALC 2018)

Members approved the Standing Orders (NALC 2018).

## 8 Consider Re-approving Financial Regulations (OVW 2018)

Members approved the Financial Regulations (OVW 2019)

#### 9 Consider the Code of Conduct

Members approved the Model Code of Conduct (same as CCBC)

## 10 Setting of Allowances and Appointments to Committees and Sub-Committees

- a. It was resolved that the Chairpersons allowance is set at £300.00 in line with the budget of 2023/24, payable upon chairman's request.
- b. It was resolved that the sum of up to £1,000 be set aside for use by the Chairman for the purpose of courtesy visits and the like.
- c. Members allowance of £156 per annum (to cover expenses) has been set by the Remuneration Panel and will be paid to all Members unless the Clerk is informed to the contrary. Members were advised that they need to submit individual pro-forma expressing their acceptance/declining the payment.
- d. Consider any other allowances.

  No other allowances were agreed.

## 11 Consider Representation on External Organisations/Sub Committees

- i. Caerphilly County Borough Council and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee –Cllr Gill Davies and Cllr Ann Gray plus Clerk to represent.
- ii. Community and Town Councils Liaison Committee –, Cllr Gill Davies and Cllr Ann Gray plus Clerk to represent.
- iii. Activities Sub-Committee all Members to participate as appropriate.
- iv. Appointments Sub-Committee –Chairman, Vice Chairman, plus 2 additional Members (to be agreed when required).
- v. Governor at Llancaeach Junior School Cllr Laura Dufty.
- vi. Governor at Llanfabon Infants School Cllr Rod Powell.
- vii. One Voice Wales Cllr Ann Gray and Cllr Laura Dufty
- viii. Nelson Community Centre Cllr Laura Dufty

Meeting closed at 9-30 p.m.

Signed	
CHAIRMAN	