County Borough of Caerphilly Nelson Community Council

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COMMUNITY COUNCIL HELD ON Thursday 9th May 2019 at 7.00pm

Present: Cllr. A Gray Chairman

Cllr. L Dufty Cllr. B Miles Cllr. G Davies Cllr. R Powell Cllr. L Lewis MBE

Tony White (Clerk)

In attendance: One Member of the Public

Inspector O'Keefe

Apologies for Absence: Cllr. S Morgan

Cllr. Z Jones

How we will use your information

Nelson Community Council is committed to transparency and as such will include a list of all attendees at its meetings.

Those individuals that attend Council meetings/speak/ask questions or give evidence will be named in the minutes of that meeting. Where appropriate this will include their opinions expressed, evidence provided, questions asked plus any other relevant information.

Minutes of Meetings including details of speakers (except for discussions involving confidential or exempt items) will be publicly available to all via the Council website at..... www.nelson-mid-glam.gov.uk/Nelson-CC

Declarations of Interest:

Members should make their declarations of personal or prejudicial interests at the start of the meeting for Agenda items when they are aware beforehand that these apply, or otherwise do so either before or during discussion (as is most appropriate) if they become aware that any such interests may relate to a matter then being considered.

The meeting was suspended to receive a report from Inspector O'Keefe (report in Ordinary meeting). the meeting was reconvened at 7-15

2365 Apologies for Absence accepted:

Cllr. S Morgan Cllr. Z Jones

To review the minutes of the General Meeting held on 10th May 2018 (previously approved)

2367 Election of Chairperson

Nominations for Chairperson were opened and Cllr. Gill Davies was proposed and seconded. There being no further nominations Cllr. Gill Davies was duly elected for the ensuing year.

Cllr Davies signed the declaration of acceptance of office as Chairman.

The incoming chairman passed on the thanks to the former Chair and to all Members for their support.

2368 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

Nominations for Vice-Chairman were opened and Cllr. Laura Dufty was proposed and seconded. There being no other nominations Cllr. Laura Dufty was elected for the ensuing year (declaration is not required for Vice- Chairman).

To make Declarations of Interest (all Members) in the presence of the Clerk and Proper Office

All Members present signed the declarations

2370 Agree meeting Schedule for 2019/20

Members agreed the proposed meeting schedule.

2371 Consider Risk Assessment

Members approved the Risk Assessments

2372 Consider Standing Orders (NALC 2018)

Members approved the Standing Orders (NALC 2018)

2373 Consider Re-approving Financial Regulations (OVW 2016)

Members re-approved the Financial Regulations (OVW 2016)

2374 Setting of Allowances and Appointments to Committees and Sub-Committees

- a It was resolved that the Chairpersons allowance is set at £300.00 in line with the budget of 2019/20, payable upon chairman's request.
- b It was resolved that the sum of up to £1,000 be set aside for use by the Chairman for the purpose of courtesy visits and the like.
- c Members allowance of £150 per annum (to cover expenses) has been set by the Remuneration Panel and will be paid to all Members unless the Clerk is informed to the contrary. Members submitted an individual proforma expressing their acceptance/declining the payment.
- d Consider any other allowances (none were suggested)

2375 Consider Representation on External Organisations/Sub Committees

- Caerphilly County Borough Council and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee –Cllr. Gill Davies and Cllr Ann Gray plus Clerk Tony White to represent.
- ii. Community and Town Councils Liaison Committee –,Cllr. Gill Davies and Cllr Ann Gray plus Clerk Tony White to represent.
- iii. Activities Sub-Committee all Members to participate as appropriate.
- iv Appointments Sub-Committee –Chairman, Vice Chairman, Plus 2 additional Members (to be agreed when required).
- v CCBC Standards Committee appointed from Community Council Liaison.
- vi Governor Llancaeach Junior School Cllr Brenda Miles.
- vii Governor Llanfabon Infants School Cllr Laura Dufty.
- viii One voice Wales Cllr Ann Gray and Cllr Pam Baldwin
 - ix Friends of Wern Parc (no longer functioning)
 - x Nelson Community Centre Cllr Laura Dufty

Meeting closed at 7.40 p.m.

Annual Meeting 9th May 2019

signed	CHAIRMAN